Chakras – What you Should Know

By Sarah Shaw
There are seven main chakras, which run along the spine, each of the body’s basic chakras are associated with specific locations on the body, such as the heart and crown of the head. To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling ball/wheel of energy. These swirling wheels of energy correspond to the major organs and nerve centers within our bodies. Additionally, each of the seven main chakras also surround the endocrine glands, which are a vital part of our immune system. The chakras are important for one to address and maintain because they affect our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. Therefore, it’s essential that our chakras stay open, aligned, and in motion. If there is a blockage, energy cannot flow, and this can greatly impact overall health and well-being.

The Seven Main Chakras
The Root Chakra (Muladhara) associated with the color red, is the embodiment of safety, grounding and ones right to live. This is the chakra of stability, security and our most basic needs. When this chakra is open, we feel safe, fearless and grounded. When this chakra is closed we experience fear, anxiety, uncertainty, physical disconnection and can experience bone/joint pain.

The Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana) associated with the color orange, is the area related to our sexual center and is responsible for our creative expression. When this chakra is open we experience pleasure and become more open to our creative pursuits. When this chakra is closed we experience boredom, lack of inspiration, stiffness, and can experience impotence and uterine/bladder/kidney issues.

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) associated with the color yellow, is the embodiment of our will, or social self and is our source of personal power. When this chakra is open chakra we feel powerful and we trust in ourselves and our decisions. When this chakra is closed we experience a feeling of being trapped, weak, powerless, vulnerable and can to experience digestive disorders.

The Heart Chakra (Anahata) associated with the color green, is the center of our compassion, love, is our source of lasting and meaningful connection to ourselves and others. When this chakra is open we feel bliss, love and an openness to life. When this chakra is closed we feel disgust, emotional disconnect, judgment and can experience physical ailments such as heart disease and asthma.

The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) associated with the color blue, is the area that encompasses our personal truth, our physical expression of self and is our source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth. When this chakra is open we are comfortable with expressing ourselves and our inner truth. When this chakra is closed we feel an inability to communicate, we neglect self-care, lack personal boundaries and can experience thyroid problems or colds.

The 3rd Eye Chakra (Ajna) associated with the color indigo is the center for our extrasensory perception, our intuition, our inspiration. When this chakra is open we have a deep connection to our intuition and are able to see situations clearly and without confusion allowing us to avoiding illusion. When this chakra is closed we feel deep confusion, make poor decisions and can experience headaches and eyestrain.

The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) associated with the color violet is the center of our wisdom and relates to our sense of transcendence and an overall feeling of being one with all things. This is the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others. When this chakra is open we experience clarity, we feel connected to not only the physical world, but the spiritual world as well. We also experience a wholeness and oneness with all things. When this chakra is closed we exhibit a lack of knowledge, and tend to be more apathetic, and small-minded.

Chakra Care
The foundation to an open and balanced chakra system consists of clearing them and maintaining them in order to promote health and wellbeing and create a sustainable, harmonious flow of energy. There are several ways in which this can be accomplished, the first and one of the most common being through meditative practices where one focuses on each individual chakra and visualizes clearing them. Another great way to maintain a balanced chakra system is through reiki. Reiki is a spiritual and physical healing practice that originating in Japan that uses hands-on energy healing to promote energetic balance and promote the body’s ability to self-correct. In addition to meditation and energic medicine, eating a healthy and well-balanced diet with colors that correspond to each specific chakra can also benefit them greatly.

Ultimately, when you balance the chakras and the energy that encompasses, you will gain a deep sense of health and well-being for mind, body and spirit. Getting in the habit of addressing and maintaining one’s chakras is an excellent step in creating a personal care routine. When starting out addressing your chakras, just remember to listen to your body and feel where any disconnect may be coming from. Doing this can be a good indication of where some energetic work needs to be done. With continued maintenance you will see and feel a difference in the way you feel, think and behave, and overall you will have gained a deeper awareness into yourself and your precious energy.

Flint Serenity House

Related Posts

Yoga’s Emotional Healing Component

The Opioid Crisis – A Personal Message

What is Grounding?

Introduction to Meditation – The Benefits and 5 Easy Tips for Success

No Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *